2019 in Review

My tranche of the 2019 in Review post is up at Strange Horizons. I realize now that I should have concluded my submission by mentioning the semi-canonical backstory in which the goose drove Margaret Thatcher out of England, and encouraging readers to do the same to Boris Johnson. I’m also kicking myself for not mentioning Neon Genesis Evangelion–but other people picked up the slack, so it’s okay.

Here’s hoping for a better 2020 for all of us, and for the world.

The Michelle West novels: Suggested reading order

With the publication of the final two novels in Michelle West’s House War series this year (Firstborn and War), respectively, I’ve embarked once again on my quest to talk these books up to other people. In particular, if you like West’s Chronicles of Elantra series, written under her other penname Michelle Sagara, I think you’ll like the West aka Essalieyan novels too. For more on why I think these books are great, and why the conclusion to the House War in particular has been very satisfying, you can read my review of the previous entry in the series, Oracle, at Strange Horizons.

It’s the perfect time to start reading these books, as West has already sold the first four books in the final series in the universe (currently titled The Burning Crown), but the absolute earliest we could expect to see the first one would be 2021. Plus, there are currently 16 books in the series, so that’s a lot to catch up on.

That quantity, and the fact that the series began twenty-five years ago, also leads to the question of where someone who does want to read these books should start. (Note: all links go to West’s website, where she has assembled buying links for each book so I don’t have to.)

Where to start?

There are, roughly, three main storylines in the Essalieyan universe, which is converging towards the end of the world over the course of the story: that of Essalieyan and its capital city Averalaan, where most of the action takes place; the Western nation of Breodanir, which follows a different god and has different customs, ruled by the Hunters and their Huntbrothers; and in the South, the Dominion of Annagar, which views the Northern gods with suspicion. Jewel Markess ATerafin is the main protagonist of the Essalieyan storyline, and of the House War sequence. Breodanir is the subject of The Sacred Hunt, and the Dominion plays a starring role in The Sun Sword.

The difficulty comes in with the fact that the first three books of The House War precede or take place concurrently with all of the other books. So the following reading order is constructed with an eye towards minimizing spoilers and readerly whiplash due to jumping back and forth between books published in the mid-1990s and the end of the 2010s. West’s style has evolved markedly over the course of the series, becoming a more effective version of itself, and the difference is particularly noticeable between the first two books and all the others. All are published by DAW.

Read More »

2017 in Review

The Strange Horizons reviewers have posted our collective reflections on the year in this week’s issue; I’m featured in part three. I’m already compiling a list of things to put on my 2018 TBR stack, and kicking myself for forgetting to mention Get Out and Colossal as two of last year’s best spec fic-adjacent (ish) films. If you haven’t seen them, you should.